April 6, 1936

Meeting for the election of officers of the new Union Board of control was called to order by Director Ward G. Biddle.

Roll Call:Lloyd Wilkins was absent.

Ballots were cast according to the constitution, collected by Mr. Robinson and counted by Mr. Cogshall. Ray Fox was elected president; Vernon Huffman was elected vice-president; Edwin Ham was elected secretary.

Short talks were given by Mr. Robinson, Mr. Cogshall, and Director Biddle.

The meeting was adjourned by Mr. Biddle.

(Signed) Edwin W. Ham

Secretary of the Board

President of the Board.

May 3, 1936.

The Annual Installation Banquet for the new members of the Indiana Union Board of Control.

Dinner started at 7:15. Briggs, Hanna, Keck, Smithburn, and Walker of the retiring board were absent. All new board members were present except Briggs.

Mr. Fineberg, as toastmaster, took charge of the meeting, welcoming the deans of the various schools, and thanking them for the co-operation shown to the board during the past year.

Mr. Vercuski, in the absence of Secretary Keck, gave a report of the years work of the retiring board. The report, in brief, is: as follows: During the past year, the Indiana Union has enjoyed one of its most successful years and has become the real center of student activities on the campus.

Dean C. E. Edmondson was introduced and complimented the old board on their work and congratulated the new members on their appointment to the Union Board.

Mr. Partick was introduced and thanked for his co-operation with the activities of the Union.

Mr. Paul Feltus, Trustee Member, was introduced.a

Supreme Court Judge Treanor was introduced and expressed his appreciation at being invited and being able to attend.

Shingles of life membership to the Indiana Union were presented to: Vernon Huffman, Bruno Vercuski, Charles Smithburn(absent), Dick Emmons Herbert Fixler, Robert Harrell, Lester Stout, Fred Hanna(absent), Wendell Walker(absent), Ralph Briggs(absent), Ray Fox, and Robert Keck(absent).

Professor Cogshall was introduced and administered the oath of office to the new members.

Keys of membership were presented to: Edwin Ham, Corbett Davis, Fred Fechtman, Claude Hixon, Arnold Lynch, Griffith Marr, Paul Mielke, Earl Roose, Lloyd Wilkins, and congratulations were extended.

Dr. Frank O. Beck was presented with the first honorary life membership to the board and expressed his heartfelt gratitude of the honor.

Director Ward G. Biddle was presented with a representation of a plaque to be place in the Board Room, bearing the inscription:
Toward G. Biddle, in appreciation of his faithful and distinguished service to the Indiana Union by the Board of Directors+1935-1936.
First Director of Indiana University Memorial Union Building-1932-1936.

Director Biddle then presented figures of the use to which the Union Building has been put in meetings, conventions, dances, guests, lunches, dinners, and banquets. He expressed his appreciation of the honor bestowed upon him, and spoke on the new partiotism at Indiana University, quoting from the writings of Dr. Bryan.

Mr. Fineberg gave his farewell address as President of the Board and presented Ray Fox with the gavel for the forthcoming year.

Mr. Fox then read the following resolutions by Mr. Keck:

TO THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF 1935-1936:

// // //

It is with regret and sorrow that I was unable to be present with you at this installation banquet, marking the termination of our active participation in the affairs of the Indiana Union.

We are proud of the record that the Board of 1935-36 has made, both in the activities continued by the Union and in the progressive steps made in broadening the activities of the Union many fold over that of previous Boards. We are indeed thankful for the opportunity which has been accorded to us of working with the Indiana Union to make a greater Indiana University. Our hope for the Board to succeed us is that it strive to the best of its ability to advance the Union to the rightful place where it belongs: the student social center of Indiana University. The opportunity is given you to put your heart and soul into a higher loyalty than that of a social fraternity, one second only to that of our great University—The Indiana Union.

Our work had been inspired and vitalized by certain individuals to whom we owe a deep debt of gratitude. Therefore I move the following resolu-

utions be adopted by the Board of 1935-36.

Here's all the luck in the world to the new Board and to its energetic and forceful leader, Ray Fox.

Secretary of Board of 35-36.

TO THE TOASTMASTER OF THE INSTALLATION BANQUET:

Resolved: that we the members of the Indiana Union Board of Control for the year 1935-36 extend to the retiring president Milton J. Fineberg this expression of gratitude and appreciation.

WHEREAS The Indiana Union having enjoyed one of ts most successful and prosperous years, and

WHEREAS the above mentioned prosperity and success had been mostly due to the efficient and distinguished leader-ship and initiative of the retiring president Milton J. Fineberg, and

whereas he has devoted his relentless indefatigable efforts toward the promotion of every Union activity and project, and

WHEREAS he has been the dynamic force behind the pioneering step the Indiana Union made in adopting the merit system and the new Indiana Union constitution, and

WHEREAS he and performed the duties imposed upon him by vittue of his office with the greatest of zeal and thomoughness

THEREFORE we the members of the Indiana Union Board of 1935-36 unanimously adopt for placement on our official records this expression of gratitude and appreciation to him.

Imove the above resolution be accepted by the Board of 1935-36 in meeting assembled.

Secretary of the Board

and although the least the

TO THE TOASTMASTER OF THE INSTALLATION BANQUET:

RESOLVED: That we, the members of the Indiana Union Board of 1935-6 hereby extend to the two faculty advisors, namely Prof. W. A. Cogshall and Prof. J. J. Robinson, and to the alumni secretary, George Heighway, and the representative of the Board of Trustees, Paul Feltus, and

expression of sincere appreciation for their excellent advice, cooperation, and loyalty in helping to make the Union the center of student social activities. Their experience was invaluable in the formation of the new Union merit constitution this past year. Their spirit, work, and untiring efforts have led to the many successes and prosperity of the Indiana Union. The intense interest of these men in all the activities of the Union and the complere thoroughness, ability, and open-mindedness with which they have performed their duties entitle this expression of appreciation to be placed on our official record.

I move the above resolution be accepted by the Board of 1935-36 in meeting assembled.

in meeting assembled.

Secretary of the Board.

Resolutions moved by Fox, seconded by Vercuski, and carried.

Dr. Bryan was presented with a key of membership to the Board as per the new constitution. President Bryan then spoke of the wonderful development of the university and of his hope that the board would keep up the good work of the past years.

Meeting adjourned.

(Signed) Edwin D. Hom

Secretary of the Board.

Approved: Vay

Prevident of the Board.

May 7, 1936.

Roll Call: Robinson absent.

Minutes of banquet were read and approved.

Financial report of period from July 1,1935 to May 1, 1936 was read by Director Biddle and approved.

Fox appointed Briggs, chairman, Marr, and Lynch to the Merit System Committee.

Fox appointed Mielke, chairman, and Fechtman to take charge of placing newspapers in the new rack in the Union Men's Lounge.