April 8, 1947 -- Special Meeting for Election of New Officers for the Year of 1947-1948.

Meeting came to order at 5:05 P.M: Mr. L.C. Smith presiding.
Mr. Lawrence Wheeler, Chairman of the Legislative Committee, read the rule governing election procedure.

Nominations were opened for President:

Rick Lambert was nominated by Jim Toy.

John Wallace was nominated by Harry Wallace. Dick Fague was nominated by Hugh Husband.

It was moved, seconded and unanimously approved that nominations be closed.

The candidates left the room, and discussion of them was led by Mr. Smith.

The first ballot was taken with these results:

John Wallace received seven votes.

Dick Fague received 6 votes. Rick Lambert received one vote.

As no one had a majority, a second ballot was necessary between Wallace and Fague. These two again left the room, and further discussion of them was held. The second ballot resulted in the election of John Wallace by a vote of eight to six. Nominations were opened for Vice-President:

Rick Lambert was nominated by Jim Toy. Dick Fague was nominated by King Traub.

Further discussion was deemed unnecessary, and the ballot was taken. Rick Lambert was elected Vice-President by a vote of eight to wix. Nominations were opened for Secretary:

Harry Wallace was nominated by Dick Hawley. Lambert made a motion, seconded by Fague, that the nominations be closed. The motion was carried unanimously and Wallace was acclaimed Secretary. New Business:

Fague reported that Harold Koenig, captain of the bowling team, is anxious for action from the Union Board to make arrangements to send the team to Purdue. No action was taken at this time

ments to send the team to Purdue. No action was taken at this time.

Members adjourned to the Banquet at 5:40. Business was resumed at the Banquet at 6:40. Cohl.F.T. Reed acted as toastmaster for the proceedings. Retiring members of the board were presented with certificates of life membership by Mr. Lawrence Wheeler, director of the I.U. Foundation. These men were: Shelby F. Jones, Franklin W. Plummer, Thomas W. Thompson, Edward P. Elsner, Joseph H. Black, Barton G. Grabow, William B. Thomas, Patrick B. Campbell.

Mr. J.A. Franklin, University Treasurer, presented Union
Service Awards to Robert W. Babbs, David H. Baker, Howard S. Carlson,
Carl K. Edwards, Jess N. Parmer, Jack F. Straub, John H. Burton,
Max E. Fague, Donald E. Hyer, Robert W. Lutz, Oscar U. Mutz,
Ronald W. Randham, Maynard D. Unger, Wesley Bowers, Charles E.
Brown, Gerald J. Hennesy, John L. Miller, Hugh Husband and Bob
Quear.

John A. Wallace, Richard H. Fague and Richard H. Lambert were announced as the members selected to hold over to the new board.

Mr. L.C. Smith installed the new members: King R. Traub, Richard Hawley, James I. Toy, Hugh P. Husband, Sheldon Steckel, Bob Quear, Frank Patton, Glen A. Graves and Harry Wallace.

Shelby Jones presented the gavel to John Wallace as a symbol of turning over the presidency to him for the ensuing year.

Members and guests were entertained and informed by President Herman B. Wells who gave a short talk.

The proceedings over, the banquet was adjourned.

approved by: Wallane

Harry Z. Wallace