The Committee appointed for qualifications of Union Board applicants consists of: John Snyder, Chairman; Lee Marchant, and one senior to be appointed.

Old Business:

Bill Chambers - asked for the date on which progressive service awards will be selected. A paper weight award is out for bids. Progressive service awards will be voted upon for approval on March 3.

Reports:

John Snyder - a list of service awards is being compiled. Bob Long - Explained the procedure on the George Lewis show. Pre-ticket sales were \$400. Fred Waring pre-ticket sales are now at \$2400. The "Voice of the Campus" radio program is on at 8:30 P.M.

Lyman Smith - Investigating the possibility of Jaycees sponsoring a Basketball Dinner with the Union and A.W.S.

The constitution for Student Union was discussed.

A motion for adjournment was made by Philip Broyles.

The meeting was adjourned by Jim Pauloski at 9:15 P.M.

Approved:

Submitted by

James Pauloski, President

Tee Marchant, Secretary

March 3, 1953

Union Board Meeting No. 20
The meeting was called to order by Jim Pauloski at 7:00 P.M.

Absent were Dean Ashton from the Board, and Pat Hanna from A.W.S.

The minutes of the last meeting were read and approved.

Jim Pauloski - Read a letter from A.W.S. Board of Standards concerning the policy on late hours for women. Dick Deutsche was appointed to be a Senior member on the qualifications committee for applicants to Union Board.

Selection of Honorary members of Union Board for 1953-54: Nominations for member from the Board of Trustees were:

Micky McCardy Ray Thomas
John Hastings Was elected.

President Herman Wells, as President of Indiana University, was elected. Claude Rich, as Alumni Secretary, was elected to the Board.

Regular Board members elected: Lyman Smith was elected to the Board, as manager of the Union. Dean Ashton was elected to the Board representing the University Administration Dr. Harold Lusk, representing the faculty, was elected to the Board.

Election of holdover members to the Board: Philip Broyles, John Snyder, and Lee Marchant were elected as holdover members.

A motion was made that the secretary cast ten unanimous votes for elected holdover members. The motion was seconded and passed.

Nominations for the selection committee, of one Board member, were opened. Nominated were: Jim Hetherington and Bob Bohn. Bob Bohn was elected.

Reports: Jerry Wilson - Reported plans for the Basket-Ball dinner in honor of the Basket-ball team. He urged that the Board members attend the dinner.

George Gamble - Departmental clubs are to put displays of their department in the show case opposite the Ernie Pyle show case.

Bill Chambers - there will be a dance after the Iowa game in honor of the team in Alumni Hall. This is to be a free

Dick Deutsche - The Honor System has been tried and is found to be highly successful in the departments in which it was conducted.

Philip Broyles - Gave the results of the Bridge Tourney. He presented the idea of incorporating a sailing club in the Union program. The sailing club was explained by Dick Deutsche. He moved that an appropriation of \$90 be given to the Sailing Club for the remainder of the year. motion was seconded and passed.

Bob Long - Moved that \$10 be appropriated for tape for the recording machine. The motion was seconded and passed. He reported that sales for the Fred Waring show are moving slowly.

Lyman Smith - Gave estimated expenses on the George Lewis show and ticket sales.

The nomination list for progressive service awards are given to John Snyder. The Constitution for Student Union was discussed.

Philip Broyles made a motion for adjournment.

The meeting was adjourned by Jim Pauloski at 10:02 P.M.

Approved:

Lee Maubont