

JACOBS SCHOOL OF MUSIC

INDIANA UNIVERSITY

Bloomington

Seven Hundred Sixth Program of the 2020-21 Season

IU Jacobs School of Music

Ballet Department

and the

Student Composers Association

The Choreography Project Composer Collaborative

present

Sarah Wroth, Coordinator Ken Phillips, Lighting Designer Luke Henry, Music Coordinator

Music composed and performed by students of the Jacobs School of Music

IUMusic*Live!* Musical Arts Center Thursday Afternoon April Twenty-Ninth Two O'Clock

The Choreography Project Composer Collaborative

Chiaroscuro

JEE WON KIM (b.1994) Chiaroscuro (2021)

Joaquin Ruiz, Choreographer

Belen Guzman, Alex Jones,
Lilly Leech, Nadia Tomasini

Hanna Lee, Violin
Seung A Jung, Viola
Ju-Min Chao, Cello

How Do You Build Floating Mountains?

BEN YEE-PAULSON (b.1994) Blue Night (2021)

Belen Guzman, Choreographer

Mia Gonzalez-Loren, Colin Canavan,
Sam Epstein, Andrew Rossi

Zhaoyuan Qin, Piano
Anna Larson, Violin
Alex Lavine, Cello

Amplified Silence

REID MERZBACHER (b.1998) Sketches (2021)

> Colin Canavan, Choreographer Morgan Jankowski, Lilly Leech, Alexis Breen, Mary Kate Shearer Olivia Hunt, Cello Theodore Jackson, Percussion

Textbook Engagement

MATTHEW LEVIN (b.2000) Textbook Engagement (2021)

Cameron Pelton, Choreographer

Jaya Dhand, Elaina daFonte, Aya Thyugensen (Swing: Zoë Van Beever) Matthew Levin, *Piano*

Syncopated Visitors

LUKE HENRY (b.2000) Times Square (2021)

Nadia Tomasini, Choreographer

Andrew Playford, Joaquin Ruiz, Brandon Silverman, Keith Newman

> Wes Taylor, *Alto Saxophone* Jacob Lomboy, *Bassoon* Simon Plum, *Bass Clarinet*

Silver Stream

KAHAN TARAPOREVALA (b.1999) Silver Stream (2021)

Keith Newman, Choreographer

Murray McCormack

Leah Wolfe, Flute

Lauren Salmon, Viola

Ben Elliott, Piano

dreams adrift

BEN HOPPE (b.2001) Dreamscape (2021)

> Sarah Gail Knutson, Choreographer Aram Hengen, Andrew Playford, Katie Zak

just another scene

ARIEL SOL BERTULFO SCHWARTZ (b.2000) just another scene from the edge of proximity (2021)

Elaina da Fonte, Choreographer Zoe Gallagher, Sarah MacGregor Alex Mortensen, Oboe Madeline Grenier, Horn Angela Leeper, Double Bass

Beginning's End

SAM EPSTEIN (b.1999) Nocturne in D Major (2021)

Andrew Rossi, Choreographer

Anderson Da Silva, Lexi Eicher, Sam Epstein, Alex Jones, Lilly Leech, Robert Mack, Andrew Playford, Mary Kate Shearer, Lily Bines, Liz Corsig, Natalie Hedrick, Mikayla Geier, Alyssa Lavroff, Bryanna Mitchell, Bradley Streetman